

Professional Appraisers Association of SD

Thursday, March 9, 2023 PAASD Annual Membership Meeting Pierre, SD – Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center

The meeting was called to order by President Sandra Gresh at 12:10 PM, Central Time.

Guests were welcomed and dual members of the SD Chapter of ASFMRA were recognized as special attendees.

Guests: Anna McCarthy, SD Appraiser Certification Program Executive Director. Debbie Ellerton, North Dakota Appraiser Association Executive Secretary. Sherry Bren

Motion: (Scott Kopplin) To approve the membership minutes of the January 21, 2022, meeting as written. Seconded by Allan Hall. **Motion passed.**

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Finance Committee

Presentation of the Treasurer's report and approved 2023 budget: The 2022 Financial Reports and the 2023 approved budget were presented to the membership.

Motion: (Amy Frink) To acknowledge receipt of the 2022 Financial Reports and the 2023 approved budget. Seconded by Dawn Rasmussen.

Motion passed.

Membership Committee

Membership Committee update: The number of members for 2022 was 137.

Education Update

In 2021 PAASD offered:

- 1. 2022 ANNUAL MEETING January 20th VALUATION BY COMPARISON: RESIDENTIAL ANALYSIS AND LOGIC: A 7-Hour Appraisal Institute seminar with 42 registrations
- 2. 2022 ANNUAL MEETING-January 21st 2022-2023 7-HOUR NATIONAL USPAP UPDATE COURSE WITH 56 registrations
- 3. MARCH 28, 2022, <u>ANSI: NEW STANDARDS FOR MEASURING RESIDENTIAL PROPERTIES:</u> A 3-hour virtual class with 73 registrations.
- 2022 FALL CONFERENCE <u>HOT TOPICS AND MYTHS IN APPRAISER LIABILITY</u>, a 7-hour seminar with 52 registrations – jointly sponsored and split according to attendance with the Wyoming & Western SD Chapter of the Appraisal Institute.
- 5. Future Conferences
 - a. 2023 Fall Conference Meeting: Location, date, and class TBD
 - b. 2024 Annual Meeting: Location, date, and classes TBD

Page 2 PAASD Annual Meeting Thursday, March 9, 2023, Annual Meeting

And, finally, <u>The Training Course For Supervisory Appraisers and State-Registered</u>

Appraisers was offered two times in 2022 with a total of 21 attendees.

Public Relations Committee

The 2022 Fundraising and Social Event: PAASD and SD Chapter of ASFMRA combined for a successful group meal and live auction. Thank you to all who participated.

SPECIAL COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Government Affairs Committee

Craig Steinley noted that the 2022 Rules Package was finally passed. It was a joint effort between PAASD and the SD Appraiser Certification Program with both sides making compromises.

<u>Website</u>

Upgrades to the website are ongoing. A total rebuild of the website is being planned.

Scholarship

Update on the PAASD Professional Development Scholarship Fund: The fund has an adequate balance. The application is being modified and the application period will now be quarterly to encourage more individuals to apply for the scholarship.

The winners of the Denny Wagner Memorial CE Scholarships will be drawn this week after the morning seminar on Friday.

OLD BUSINESS:

PAASD's strategic plan is still being refined. A Policies and Procedures Manual is in progress.

ELECTION OF PRESIDENT AND VICE PRESIDENT:

At the September 29, 2022, PAASD Board of Directors meeting, Amy Frink and Scott Kopplin were elected by the Board as President and Vice-President, respectively, for the 2023-2024 year. The Immediate Past President will be Sandra Gresh.

ELECTION OF DIRECTORS:

Two nominations and bios were submitted for the two 3-year open director positions and one nomination and bio was submitted for the one 2-year open director position. An election was unnecessary as the positions were filled by the nominations and bios submitted by the deadline of March 1, 2023.

The new Directors unanimously accepted by the PAASD membership by unanimous consent are:

1. The 3-year director positions for 2023-2026 are:

a. Billy Bear – Rapid City, SD

2. The 2-Year director position for 2023-2025 is:

a. Patrick Wyatt – Hot Springs, SD

Thank you to Brooke Newstrom for serving on the Board and completing your 3-year term as a Director under the new governance model.

President Sandra then presented to the membership the new Board members, Kent Roe and Patrick Wyatt, and returning Board member, Billy Bear.

Page 3 PAASD Annual Meeting Thursday, March 9, 2023, Annual Meeting

President Sandy then had two special presentations to make:

For his outstanding contribution to the Appraisal Profession in South Dakota, for his dedication to PAASD, and now for his prestigious role as the President of the Appraisal Institute, PAASD would like to recognize Craig Steinley as a Lifetime Member and declare that March 9, 2023, is Craig Steinley day. In recognition, David Lawrence presented Craig with a gold pin depicting the state of South Dakota – mimicking the new logo for PAASD. Thank you, Craig Steinley!

For her outstanding dedication and service to the Appraisal Profession in South Dakota, PAASD would like to present Sherry Bren an engraved glass plaque signifying her Honorary Membership in PAASD. Thank you, Sherry Bren!

President Sandra then turned the gavel over to Amy Frink. President Amy Frink presented Sandra with an engraved paperweight in recognition of her tireless service to PAASD as President for the prior two years.

President Amy awarded Brooke Newstrom with a PAASD Professional Development Scholarship Certificate.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:43 PM.

Respectfully Submitted, Bev Luke PAASD Executive Secretary

PAASD's Officers and Directors The officers for 2023-2024 are:

> Amy Frink, President, will be on the Board until 2024. Scott Kopplin, Vice President, will be on the Board until 2024. Sandra Gresh, Past President, will be on the Board until 2024. Craig Steinley, Secretary/Treasurer, will be on the Board until 2025.

The Directors are:

Marshall Miller, Sioux Falls, will be on the Board until 2024. Marv Siebrecht, Aberdeen, will be on the Board until 2024. Charlotte Deaver, Winner, will be on the Board until 2025 David Lawrence, Sioux Falls, will be on the Board until 2025

DENNY WAGNER 2023 CE SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS

Charlotte Deaver Adam Lalim Deanna Smith Randy Vance